Buses and Trains and Hills Oh My!

So after a week of experiencing Leeds on my own I have come to a few conclusions.

1. Hills are a bitch but I have to get used to them, especially the one that takes me to the city center in about 10 minutes (give or take a few minutes depending on how fast I can catch my breath, right now I’m lucky if make it up without slowing down).

2. Buses are confusing since they have more than one and the two I generally take have different deals for things, also if you see an angry Eastern European driving one of the first buses, stay away! Unless you like to be thrown from one side of the bus to the other with hardly a blink of an eye and get thrown down the stairs of the double-decker, bodily injury is likely. Also to catch a bus you may have to wave your hand (and if you’re like me, feel like an idiot) so they know you want on cause apparently just standing up and making eye contact with the bus driver is not enough. I learned that last Thursday after waiting about 45 minutes and getting passed up by two different buses and then getting fed up and walking home in the pouring rain with a heavy load and an injured knee (ie crazy Eastern European bus driving). But I’m slowly getting the hang of it. I just have to learn what stops to tell them since despite driving all over Leeds, they don’t always know where my street is (and there being a bus stop on my street). My “I hate buses, I hate buses” from last Thursday is slowly changing. I’m also contemplating getting a metro pass so I won’t have to remember what bus has what deal and what fare is different. One bus charged me a pound to go into town from my street, another charged me £1.90 for the same distance back to my place. And if I’m gonna be getting more buses with the weather getting colder and wetter, it might be a good idea.

3. I have yet to get on a train by myself. Though I might have my first chance this Friday. It just depends on when I get done at my place and decide I want to head to Mike’s. But I’m slowly getting the hang of that too. When me and Mike aren’t trying to catch the next train to Huddersfield and me either being grumpy and out of breath or just out of breath, I’ve managed to see what platform we usually get on and what fare I’m usually paying for. Yesterday I was pretty proud of myself when going to meet Mike at the train station. I walked the whole way and I didn’t get lost and I got there in about 35 minutes cause I picked my feet off the ground and power walked (or Mike-walked since his normal pace without me is fast). And then when we thought we were gonna miss the next train, we pretty much ran all the way to the platform and onto the train only to find that clock on the TV in Wetherpoons was off and we had plenty of time. Granted I think I was able to keep up cause he had a hold of my hand and I was good until I was trying to catch up on the escalator and lost all decent breathing skills and was panting until I sat in the seat on the train.

4. Back to me walking faster. I generally think I have an average pace especially when I don’t really to be somewhere immediately. But I am noticing that most people around me tend to walk faster and I don’t know if that is an English thing or a student thing or am I really that slow lol But after my first week having freak warm weather and then turning to normal which is about an average of 50s degree weather and being windy and/or wet. I tend to take baby steps when it’s raining out cause I don’t enjoy the thought of falling flat on my butt in public and possibly even injuring myself. But as Mike said yesterday, the roads are used to being wet so even though I don’t trust my shoes I can trust the ground (but avoid those metal things in the road when walking through a cross walk, those are slippery). When I managed to catch my breath after the large hill and trusted the ground enough not to fall I picked my feet up and really walked and I want to say that I cut out at least 5-10 minutes of walking just by changing my pace. It’s gonna take a while though before I can conquer hills without breaking a sweat or panting most of the way up. I know too that my legs and knees will hurt on occasion as they get used to this different way of getting around. As long as I don’t come across anymore crazy bus drivers I should be good.

Now I have realized a few others things since I’ve been here beyond transportation and getting around. I miss home a lot, I know it’s weird but I honestly didn’t think I would get that home sick. But since I’ve only been here two weeks and the only person I really talk to is Mike and his parents. It’s pretty bad when you look at photos/videos of your animals and that brings heavy sadness. Hopefully that will change now that I have a phone and I can exchange numbers with a few classmates. I kind of want to join something around here too but I don’t know what. That’s one thing that bugs me about missing the welcome week. I didn’t really get to mingle a lot or see what kind of clubs they have. Personally I don’t that much about what goes on with my accommodation since I’m focused on school and it seems the people around me are more focused on going out and having a good time and then coming back rather loudly and being stupid (such as the twats that decided to go around my floor around 5am Sunday trying to see if any doors were unlocked. I couldn’t go back to sleep cause I was more angry than disturbed by the noises they were making). I probably should report to the reception desk but I don’t know what they would say or if they could do anything about it. They have managed to rectify themselves though, despite my room not being in the best condition (in my opinion) and having a leak. They were quick about getting someone to come in and see what the problem was. I have to get this thing replaced and I say thing because I have no idea what to call it or what it’s function is. But this post shall be followed with photos. Anyway I think the pretty much sums up my last week.

 

Now I would share photos of the bathroom but I took them sideways and this thing won’t save the image when I try to edit it so don’t really know what to do. Anyhow, it’s like a closet. I walk up and in front of me is the mirror and sink, to the right is a single person stall and to the left is the toilet and with towel rack and a small space to store stuff. It also makes a weird noise every time after I flush, don’t think there is much I can do about that lol

3 thoughts on “Buses and Trains and Hills Oh My!

  1. Very nice room. Of course you’re homesick, you are in a whole different world. But it will get better, you are taking the right attitude. Find people with common interests,even get a p/t job. You will be surprised its the little things that you will miss now in both countries when you travel back, I still drink only the tea I grew up on in Canada!

  2. How exciting lisa. Sounds like you are getting the hang of everything. And I love the way you say twat already….I have a few friends on facebook from the UK and I love the way they phrase things. Enjoy yourself too and embrace the different culture and then bring some of it home with you! Love ya
    Angel

  3. Aww thanks guys. Makes me feel good to know someone is out there reading it (I can see it’s been viewed just not by who). I will say that I learned today from walking that wet leaves are slippery too, I had to slow down a few times when my feet would keep going behind me despite me trying to firmly plant them on the ground.

Leave a Reply

