SLOW DOWN!!!

That’s what I have to keep telling myself.

I’m finding it’s easy for me to freak out about the work I’m doing thinking I need to keep up and that I’m getting behind.

One thing that has started this is one professor told us that in two weeks we’ll be meeting one on one with one of the three professors teaching the class to talk about how we’re doing so far with the paper due in January along with the reflective log we’re supposed to be doing. Then I have a class that I’m doing a paper on that is due a lot sooner that I haven’t done much with. I need to let that professor know next week what I’ll be doing. Though I do have a pretty good idea I’m just not sure if it’s a good idea. However with the one on one thing, I have no clue what I’m gonna write about and just now started the reflective log. Though after talking to Mike and a classmate, they assured me it was likely just to talk about ideas for it and see what I think or if I need help.

But before I talked to Mike I kept thinking I need to be doing more. I need to be waking up early and get going sooner and go to school and spend hours researching and writing and such. But then I did talk to Mike. He reminded me that I haven’t been in school or the country a month yet so I’m still getting sorted and I have plenty of time do things. I’m very far in my Digital Media Communications class, I’m doing pretty well in my Information Society and Economics class which is the one I’ve pretty much decided on the subject for my first assignment. I am doing lots of work. Maybe not quite up to 40 hours yet but I got time to adjust still. Plus I have a place to maintain and clothes to wash. Though I really don’t like my place. The sink is still leaking and the new part has yet to come and no one has told me anything, it smells of mold at times and even when I don’t turn on the sink it still leaks. The place is fairly quiet and pleasant during the day but when it gets to evening you hear people getting ready to go out and then they’re already drinking so they get pretty obnoxious. Especially when they in the hallways at 11 or 12 to go out and they’re not being quiet. I usually have headphones in so I managed to sleep and block out anything but at least once a night I’m woken up by someone. At first it was hard to go back to sleep but now it’s like I don’t care or I’m used to it. Last week though I couldn’t block the alarm going off out. It was around 2am and I was sound asleep. I stumbled to it to see what it was and if I could stop it and after a minute it stopped. Then I waited to see if it would go off again or if I could hear anyone else stirring cause of it. I also waited to see if someone knocked on my door to ask what was going on or to even tell me. It took me nearly an hour to go back to sleep and I heard yelling a few times but I managed and had fitful sleep. The next morning when I got up and left for school I saw the maintenance man and asked him if he knew what the alarm by the door was. He explained to me what it was and why it went off. It’s the alarm that can only be tripped by one of the main ones that controls them all. That night a girl got rather drunk and the security guy I guess was trying to get her to her room and she was by the main controls and pushed the button that set them off. When the security guy tried to stop her she hit him or attempted to. So police were called. As far as I know it’s about £200-250 for setting an alarm for a non emergency and the assault to the security guy would have been another charge. So someone got into a lot of trouble either way. I prefer my quiet weekends in Huddersfield really but I guess it’s something I will have to eventually get used to. Anyway gonna keep reminding myself to take it easy and slow down and enjoy myself sometimes.

One thought on “SLOW DOWN!!!

Leave a Reply

