Sad News…

Well I got some sad news today. Grey’s owner came for him. My in-laws were in the front of the house today doing some yard work and I guess Grey was with them. This woman from across the road came over and said that was so and so’s cat. The neighbor’s daughter used to play with Grey’s owner’s daughter.

They explained that he showed up 3 weeks ago and they didn’t know how to contact her, even asked around but I guess not the right person. So he’s gone now. And of course I’m sad and heartbroken.

I don’t know if I had a feeling this would happen but I will say for the first two weeks that he was here, I tried to stay distant as I think did he. But then he started wanting in the house more and then I figured it wouldn’t hurt for him to get comfortable and then on my birthday he just plopped himself in my lap and I was a goner. He was constantly up here after that. I loved having him in the room as he slept by me. It brought my mood up.

I just don’t get why it even took so long for her to even bother looking for him around here and for her friend, the neighbor to even notice. Though to even say that’s her cat is a bit silly because he’s grey, he’s not the only grey cat I’ve seen around here.

I’m a bit angry at her too. Not so much as a thanks for taking care of my cat, is there anything I do as far as paying back for the food (my mother in law thought that would have been nice to offer but they would have refused the money). Just a there you are, I’ve missed you! Then picks him up and leaves. I mean I’ve been looking on lost pets websites since last week and have found nothing. I think it hurt so much because we were all making long-term plans for him and now its like limbo, we don’t know what going to happen next.

To be honest we do expect for him to come back, especially if he doesn’t know the place where he lives now. I’m hoping he comes back. Though I don’t know what we’ll do if he does. As far as I know we didn’t contact the girl it was the neighbor. But she’ll likely be coming here looking again (I would hope so at least, for his sake).

I had to pretty much hide upstairs before Niagara Falls started. I got a hug from my mother-in-law because we all knew I was the one extremely attached to him. My mother-in-law commented this would have happened in December when I go home but I don’t really see it that way. I see it as I’ll be away from my fiance and my cat for a year before I come back for them for good.

I don’t know exactly how I’m going to deal with this. I’m bummed, I will be for quite a few days. I don’t even care about picking up my stuff or the BBQ tomorrow. I’d rather just stay holed up in the bedroom under my  little rain cloud. It’s pretty bad when the sight of the other cats brings tears to my eyes. They may  be at peace now but I know I’m not. I don’t even know where to begin feeling better.

2 thoughts on “Sad News…

  1. Oh dear – this is always a possibility when you adopt a cat from the street. So sorry for you but at least it happened relatively soon after youtookhim in. Be thankful that you were there for Grey when he needed you. They do quickly take up large parts of your heart.

Leave a Reply

